Sunday, 30 July 2017

Book Review: Ella's Ice-cream Summer

Ella's Ice-Cream Summer (The Ice-Cream Cafe, #1)Ella's Ice-Cream Summer by Sue Watson
Series: The Ice-cream Cafe #1
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication Date: 11th may 2017
Pages: 334
Source: ERC from publisher

Blurb:
 Ella’s life just hit rock-bottom, but can a summer by the sea mend her broken heart? When life gives you lemons… make ice-cream!

Life hasn’t always been easy for single mum Ella, but she has just hit an all-time low; she’s jobless, loveless, very nearly homeless and, to make matters worse, now the owner of a pocket-sized pooch with a better wardrobe than her.

Packing her bags (and a bigger one for the dog), Ella sets off for the seaside town of Appledore in Devon to re-live the magical summers of her youth and claim her portion of the family ice-cream business: a clapped-out ice-cream van and a complicated mess of secrets.

There she meets gorgeous and free-spirited solicitor, Ben, who sees things differently: with a little bit of TLC he has a plan to get the van – and Ella – back up and running in no time.

Ella’s Ice-Cream Summer is a heart-warming and hilarious romance that will scoop you off your feet and prove it’s never too late for a fresh start. The ideal holiday read for fans of Lucy Diamond, Abby Clements and Debbie Johnson. 


My thoughts: 
 
Warning: To be read with lashings of ice-cream. I read this during an Australian winter and I still craved ice-cream.

Ella is feeling despondent about her life. Her teenage children are ready to leave the nest. Her husband has run off with his younger, perkier, richer boss and all her Facebook friends seem to be having endless holidays and perfect lives. Her mother’s social life is busier than hers.

If you can relate to any of this you will love this RomCom with a hint of mystery, lashings of ice-cream and a touch of romance.

Ella runs away, “Just for one summer” she says, to sell home-made ice-cream in a van on the beach of the little seaside town that she loved as a child.

Sweet, funny, romantic and heart-warming.

This story is about running away to a fresh start and finding yourself. But it’s also about bringing families together and working for a common goal.

Follow your dreams no matter how crazy they seem!

 My rating: 4 of 5 stars

About the author: (courtesy of Goodreads)

Sue Watson was a TV Producer with the BBC who combined motherhood and family life with a busy career. However, one day it dawned on Sue that Cosmo magazine may have been telling porkies about 'having it all,' and her life had become a slightly crazed juggling act.

So after much soul searching (and comfort eating) Sue abandoned her TV career, bought a pink laptop and wrote a novel. 'Fat Girls and Fairy Cakes,' tells the story of Stella Weston, whose life is a constant struggle with a nasty boss at work, the weighing scales and being a mum, wife and daughter.

Originally from Manchester, Sue now lives with her husband and teenage daughter in Worcestershire. When she's not toiling over her latest novel, Sue bakes (and eats) cake and enjoys very large tubs of Caramel Chew Chew ice cream all to herself while watching 'The Biggest Loser USA.'

Sue's second book, 'Younger, Thinner, Blonder' was released in October (2013) and her third book 'Love, Lies and Lemon Cake' is released on June 27th 2014.

https://www.facebook.com/suewatsonbooks

Follow Sue on Twitter @suewatsonwriter



View all my reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment